Patriotism – Yukio Mishima, Geoffrey W. Sargent (Translator)

FEATURED 📌 Rating: ★★★ 02/02/17 On -isms It seems that I had some issues with this novella. And the reasons, as usual, are completely personal and thus, irrelevant to your reading experience. Beyond tradition, beliefs, fear and indignation at the imminent prospect of Imperial troops attacking Imperial troops, I can’t find a story breathtakingly infused with romanticism. … More Patriotism – Yukio Mishima, Geoffrey W. Sargent (Translator)

Brief Answers to the Big Questions – Stephen Hawking

Rating: ★★★★ 27/10/18 A few years ago, The Times newspaper ran a headline on the front page which said ‘Hawking: God Did Not Create Universe’. The article was illustrated. God was shown in a drawing by Michelangelo, looking thunderous. They printed a photo of me, looking smug. They made it look like a duel between us. … More Brief Answers to the Big Questions – Stephen Hawking

La tierra permanece – Luis Benítez

Rating: ★★★★ 14/10/18 Generations come and generations go, but the earth remains forever. Ecclesiastes 1:4 * Generación va, y generación viene; mas la tierra siempre permanece. Eclesiastés 1:4 The poet quoted. The earth and good poetry. It’s been awhile since I last read Argentine poetry, let alone a still-breathing national writer since it’s difficult for me … More La tierra permanece – Luis Benítez

Tao Te Ching – Lao Tzu, Ellen M. Chen (Translator/Commentary)

Rating: ★★★★ 18/08/18  Concatenated thoughts. Review #1 ✓ – #2 They come to be and he claims no possession of them, He works without holding on, Accomplishes without claiming merit. Because he does not claim merit, His merit does not go away. The Tao Te Ching is a classical text credited to Chinese philosopher and writer Lao … More Tao Te Ching – Lao Tzu, Ellen M. Chen (Translator/Commentary)

Tao Te Ching – Lao Tzu, Stephen Mitchell (Translator)

Rating: ★★★ 18/08/18 Concatenated thoughts. Review #1 – #2 ✓    Things arise and she lets them come; things disappear and she lets them go. She has but doesn’t possess, acts but doesn’t expect. The Tao Te Ching is a classical text credited to Chinese philosopher and writer Lao Tzu (6th century) and on which Taoism is … More Tao Te Ching – Lao Tzu, Stephen Mitchell (Translator)

Poems on Various Subjects, Religious and Moral – Phillis Wheatley

Rating: ★★ 03/08/18 To a lady on the death of three relations … Weep not for them, and leave the world behind. As a young plant by hurricanes up torn, So near its parent lies the newly born— But ‘midst the bright ehtereal train behold It shines superior on a throne of gold: Then, mourner, cease; … More Poems on Various Subjects, Religious and Moral – Phillis Wheatley

One Hundred Leaves: A new annotated translation of the Hyakunin Isshu – Fujiwara no Teika, Blue Flute (Editor and Translator)

Rating: ★★★★ 20/07/18 Soon, we will not be in this world together And all will be a memory: Now, for just a moment, How I wish to meet. — Izumi Shikibu, #56 Better than Neruda, I tell you. One hundred people, one poem each. That’s the Ogura Hyakunin Isshu, a Japanese anthology compiled by Fujiwara no … More One Hundred Leaves: A new annotated translation of the Hyakunin Isshu – Fujiwara no Teika, Blue Flute (Editor and Translator)

How to Be Perfectly Unhappy – Matthew Inman

Rating: ★★ 20/07/18 This one was a mix. How to Be Perfectly Unhappy is a short collection of lovely drawings that ponder the concept of happiness. Some reflections are of some interest, but not exactly meaningful epiphanies, just stuff you already know; others echo a self-help Coelhish mumbo jumbo about wanting to hurt so you can … More How to Be Perfectly Unhappy – Matthew Inman

Contes En Vingt Lignes – Marguerite Burnat-Provins

Rating: ★★★★ 10/06/18 I haven’t heard of Franco-Swiss writer and painter Marguerite Burnat-Provins (1872-1952) until a friend read one of her books a month ago or so and the writing intrigued me. I didn’t find that book so honestly, didn’t have high expectations regarding Contes en vingt lignes – that’s always wise, Plath says. At first, … More Contes En Vingt Lignes – Marguerite Burnat-Provins